25 years old

I had a wonderful birthday yesterday, completed by all the love I received from across the ocean via phone, internet and post.  Thanks to everyone.

I got some great presents, but maybe the best one is from the US government: a two-year paid vacation in a lovely town less than an hour from the beautiful Black Sea.  After training ends in July this will be my home.  I will be near some other volunteers, and we all rode the train together for seven hours today, along with our Bulgarian counterparts, who will teach with us.

Bulgarians are so kind to strangers, and the Bulgarian countryside is so beautiful, that travelling isn’t such a chore here as it is in the States.  In fact, I found myself in no hurry for the long ride to end.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “25 years old

  1. gramps

    A belated birthday wish to you sent with all my love. I am so glad you have a permanent assignment, but I need to know the name of the town and how to get there. I am in the process of planning our ntrip to Europe and will see a travel agent in about an hour.
    Don’t know what I will tell her/him.

Leave a Reply

